top of page

i01: light beyond darkness


light beyond darkness

Made by Jodie

 

As someone from Hong Kong, I felt compelled to illustrate something relating to the ongoing battle for democracy. I drew a girl fighting with a more colorful backdrop on the left transitioning into something more monochrome and resembling a prison cell on the right. Though the drawing isn't referring to a specific activist, I wanted to show the recent unfair detainment of activists and youths. On the top left, the mountain drawn is Lion Rock (since its shape looks like a lion), a symbol of perseverance in the face of adversity. Below the mountain are skyscrapers, iconic to HK. The road in the left-middle section represents some sort of rough timeline - I showed the first mass protest (in summer 2019, against the China extradition bill) in the group of people with the red tram in between, and the red and blue fires refer to the Chinese University siege. Finally, I drew a boat near the end of the timeline for 12 HK youths currently detained in China. On the right, I drew bars and handcuffs representing a prison. I wanted to illustrate the unfair arrest of activists, as well as figuratively something that is stripped of freedom and human rights. This is why I decided to use the phrase "light beyond darkness" - though the darkness is getting closer, light hopefully will come with the perseverance of Hong Kong people.


Instagram: @marineskies

bottom of page