top of page

The Room You Cannot Find

WRITTEN BY: MICAH GREENFIELD

EDITED BY: AMY FENG ZHANG


The Room You Cannot Find


Cardboard moving boxes

Old toys in a heaping pile

Walls stripped lifeless white

Let go, sad old child


Rusty borrowed furniture

Overgrown grass

Wave goodbye to what you had

Let go of hours past


Torn and beaten teddy bears

Rips in all your clothes

A smile for no reason

Why won't you let go?


Holding onto nothing

Silent whispers of the air

“You’re looking for a miracle”

Let go of what’s not there


The cold tile floor dust

Is moving on faster than you

Just close the door

Let go, it’s the only thing you can do


Let go, silly child

Leave that life behind

There’s nothing waiting for you

In a room you cannot find


 

Hello!


My name is Micah Greenfield, I'm 16 years old and I am a TCK. My mum is Chinese Cambodian and my dad is from New Zealand. I was born in Singapore but spent majority of my childhood years in Canada. I moved to Cambodia when I was 7, and I have been here ever since. I've never lived in New Zealand, though both my parents consider it their home. Part of me feels like I should too, but how could I consider a place I barely know my home? I tend to have trouble expressing my emotions to others, and I often find myself pushing my feelings aside, labeling them as 'unimportant' or 'insignificant.' My whole life I have really enjoyed writing, and recently I have found comfort in the fact that I can be totally myself in what I write. I don't usually share what I write, but I thought this poem might be relatable to those people like me who don't really know where 'home' is. It's called The Room You Cannot Find.


(Instagram: @dlakdlzk)



bottom of page